• (July 20th) STM will have a second round of submissions.
    Papers from the first round of submissions will retain their author notification and camera-ready dates.
    • Second Round Paper Submission Deadline: August 15, 2021
    • Submission link: EASYCHAIR


STM (Security and Trust Management) is a working group of ERCIM (European Research Consortium in Informatics and Mathematics). STM 2021 is the seventeenth workshop in this series and will be held virtually at Darmstadt, Germany, in conjunction with the 26th European Symposium On Research in Computer Security (ESORICS 2021). The workshop seeks submissions from academia, industry, and government presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of security and trust in ICTs.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Access control
  • Anonymity
  • Applied cryptography
  • Authentication
  • Complex systems security
  • Data and application security
  • Data protection
  • Data/system integrity
  • Digital rights management
  • Economics of security and privacy
  • Formal methods for security and trust
  • Identity management
  • Legal and ethical issues
  • Mobile security
  • Networked systems security
  • Operating systems security
  • Privacy
  • Security and trust metrics
  • Security and trust policies
  • Security and trust management architectures
  • Security and trust for big data
  • Security and trust in cloud environments
  • Security and trust in content delivery networks
  • Security and trust in crowdsourcing
  • Security and trust in grid computing
  • Security and trust in the Internet of Things
  • Security and trust in pervasive computing
  • Security and trust in services
  • Security and trust in social networks
  • Social implications of security and trust
  • Trust assessment and negotiation
  • Trust in mobile code
  • Trust models
  • Trust management policies
  • Trust and reputation systems
  • Trusted platforms
  • Trustworthy systems and user devices

Important dates

Paper Submission Author Notification Camera Ready
August 15, 2021 (2nd Round) September 20, 2021 September 27, 2021
July 15, 2021 (1st Round) August 10, 2021 August 17, 2021

All deadlines are at 11.59PM / 23:59 American Samoa Time

Instructions for Paper Submission

Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at: For the second round, papers must be received by the deadline of August 15th (11:59 p.m. American Samoa time). At least one author of accepted papers must guarantee that they will present their paper at the workshop.

All submissions must be written in English, and only PDF files will be accepted (a Latex source file will be required for the final version of accepted papers). All submissions should be appropriately anonymized (i.e., papers should not contain author names or affiliations, or obvious citations). Submissions should be at most 16 pages in the LNCS format, excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices, and at most 20 pages in total.

A paper submitted to STM 2021 cannot be under review for any other conference or journal during the time it is being considered for STM 2021. Furthermore, after you submit to STM 2021, you must await our response before submitting elsewhere. If you submit your paper to another conference or journal either before or after submission of the paper to STM 2021, we will reject your paper without review and will also notify the other conference/journal. This restriction applies to identical as well as to substantially similar papers.

As in previous years, the proceedings will be published online by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series (past STM proceedings are available here). As such, the final version of an accepted paper must be in the format required for publication in the LNCS series. Authors should consult Springer's authors' guidelines and use their proceedings templates. Springer encourages authors to include their ORCIDs ( in their papers. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

In addition, the corresponding author of each accepted paper, acting on behalf of all of the authors of that paper, must complete and sign a Consent-to-Publish form. The corresponding author signing the copyright form should match the corresponding author marked on the paper. Once the files have been sent to Springer, changes relating to the authorship of the papers cannot be made.

Best Paper Award

A best paper award will be granted in this workshop. This award will be given to the best paper submitted to the workshop, based on the relevance, originality, and technical quality.

Organizing Committees

Programme Co-chairs

  • Rodrigo Roman, University of Málaga, Spain
  • Jianying Zhou, Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD), Singapore

Programme Committee

  • Cristina Alcaraz, University of Malaga, Spain
  • Pasquale Annicchino, Archimede Solutions, Switzerland
  • Joonsang Baek, University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Jorge Bernal Bernabe, University of Murcia, Spain
  • Mauro Conti, University of Padua, Italy
  • Said Daoudagh, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
  • Roberto Di Pietro, Hamad Bin Khalifa University, Qatar
  • Carmen Fernandez Gago, University of Malaga, Spain
  • Olga Gadyatskaya, LIACS, Leiden University, The Netherlands
  • Dieter Gollmann, TUHH, Germany
  • Stefanos Gritzalis, University of the Aegean, Greece
  • Jinguang Han, Queen's University Belfast, UK
  • Marko Hölbl, University of Maribor, Slovenia
  • Chenglu Jin, Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, The Netherlands
  • Panayiotis Kotzanikolaou, University of Piraeus, Greece
  • Giovanni Livraga, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
  • Bo Luo, University of Kansas, USA
  • Xiapu Luo, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Luigi Mancini, Università di Roma La Sapienza, Italy
  • Fabio Martinelli, IIT-CNR, Italy
  • Daisuke Mashima, ADSC, Singapore
  • Sjouke Mauw, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • Keith Mayes, Information Security Group, Royal Holloway, UK
  • Weizhi Meng, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Chuadhry Mujeeb Ahmed, University of Strathclyde, UK
  • Surya Nepal, Data 61, Australia
  • Liliana Pasquale, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Joachim Posegga, University of Passau, Germany
  • Davy Preuveneers, KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Pierangela Samarati, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
  • Qingni Shen, Peking University, China
  • Marco Squarcina, TU Wien, Austria
  • Chunhua Su, University of Aizu, Japan
  • Yangguang Tian, Osaka University, Japan
  • Hiroshi Tsunoda, Tohoku Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Zheng Yang, SUTD, Singapore
  • Kuo-Hui Yeh, National Dong Hwa University, Taiwan
  • Chan Yeob Yeun, Khalifa University, United Arab Emirates
  • Chia-Mu Yu, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Publicity Chair

  • Weizhi Meng, Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark