Workshop 'Security of the Internet of Things' (SecIoT 2010)

Message from the Workshop Co-Organisers

Security is extremely important for achieving the vision of the Internet of Things. As this world-wide network of interconnected objects can be exploited anywhere by anyone and anytime, it is necessary to enhance such vision with strong security foundations able to give birth to a world-changing paradigm. As this particular research field is still in its infancy, we envisaged our workshop as an open forum where participants, either from the academia or from the industry, could be able to:

- 1. Acquire knowledge on the actual state of the art of the most important security research issues that affect the IoT.
- 2. Debate the role of security and its practical implications in the development of the IoT.
- 3. Interact and exchange ideas with IoT security experts, fostering future collaborations that will surely benefit the whole IoT community.

To the best of our knowledge, this is the first ever workshop specifically focused on the security issues and challenges that surround the Internet of Things. As we are (at least among) the first, we also face certain drawbacks such as the ever-changing nature of the Internet of Things itself. This and other factors influence over the security requirements that must be fulfilled in order to achieve a secure and dependable interconnected world, limiting the number of researchers working in this area. Nevertheless, we believe that we are currently in a situation where the seeds of the Internet of Things are finally germinating, and it is time to nurture them and protect them.

We received 17 submissions from authors representing more than 15 countries around the world. Although the number of submissions was less than expected, the reaction of our technical program committee was outstanding. In fact, most papers were reviewed by 3 TPC members, providing an excellent feedback to all authors. By using their insightful comments, we accepted 9 high-quality papers.

As a final note, we would like to thank the authors for submitting their work to our workshop. We would also like to thank the members of the program committee for their professionalism, which greatly contributed to improve the quality of the final accepted papers. We would like to thank the program co-chairs (Stefanos Gritzalis and Jianying Zhou) and one of our colleagues from Malaga (Javier Lopez) for providing their expertise in order to make this workshop a success. And last, but not least, we would like to thank the organisers of the Internet of Things conference 2010 for making the SecIoT'10 workshop possible.

Jim Clarke, Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland Rodrigo Roman Castro, University of Malaga, Spain

SecIoT 2010 Workshop Organization

Program Co-Chairs

Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean, Greece) Jianying Zhou (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore)

General Co-Chairs

Jim Clarke (Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland) Rodrigo Roman (University of Malaga, Spain)

Program Committee

Alessandro Acquisti (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)

Hani Alzaid (Queensland University of Technology, Australia)

Levente Buttyan (BME, Hungary)

Barbara Daskala (ENISA, Greece)

John Dominque (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University, UK)

Alex Gluhak (University of Surrey, UK)

Antonio Jara (University of Murcia, Spain)

Marc Joye (Technicolor, France)

Jin Kwak (Soonchunhyang University, Korea)

Andre Koenig (Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany)

Manik Lal Das (Dhirubhai Ambani Inst. for Information and Communication Tech., India)

Costas Lambrinoudakis (University of Piraeus, Greece)

Albert Levi (Sabanci University, Turkey)

Javier Lopez (University of Malaga, Spain)

Christoph P. Mayer (University of Karlsruhe, Germany)

Yi Mu (University of Wollongong, Australia)

Barry Mulcahy (Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland)

Aljosa Pasic (Atos Origin, Spain)

Michel Riguidel (Institut Télécom/Télécom ParisTech, France)

Panagiotis Rizomiliotis (University of the Aegean, Greece)

Matt Robshaw (Orange Labs, France)

Gokay Saldamli (Bogazici University, Turkey)

Stefaan Seys (K.U.Leuven, Belgium)

Nicolas Sklavos (Tech. Educational Institute of Patras, Greece)

Neeraj Suri (Technische Universitaet Darmstadt, Germany)

Rolf H. Weber (University of Zurich, Switzerland)

Duncan Wong (City University of Hong Kong, China)

Yanjiang Yang (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore)

Yunlei Zhao (Fudan University, China)

Wen Tao Zhu (CAS, China)