# CALL FOR PAPERS

# 13th European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS 2008)

Malaga, Spain – October 6-8, 2008

http://www.isac.uma.es/esorics08

Papers offering novel research contributions in any aspect of computer security are solicited for submission to the Thirteenth European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS 2008). Organized in a series of European countries, ESORICS is confirmed as the European research event in computer security. The symposium started in 1990 and has been held on alternate years in different European countries and attracts an international audience from both the academic and industrial communities. From 2002 it has been held yearly. The Symposium has established itself as one of the premiere, international gatherings on Information Assurance. Papers may present theory, technique, applications, or practical experience on topics including:

security as quality of service access control accountability intellectual property protection applied cryptography intrusion tolerance secure electronic commerce anonymity authentication covert channels peer-to-peer security security administration authorization and delegation cybercrime language-based security security evaluation cryptographic protocols denial of service attacks network security security management security models data integrity formal methods in security non-interference dependability inference control privacy-enhancing technology security requirements engineering information warfare pseudonymity information flow control security verification survivability subliminal channels smartcards steganography system security transaction management trustworthy user devices information dissemination control trust models and trust management policies digital right management data and application security identity management

The primary focus is on high-quality original unpublished research, case studies and implementation experiences. We encourage submissions of papers discussing industrial research and development. Proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

#### Paper submission

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers should be at most 15 pages excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendices (using 11-point font), and at most 20 pages total. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible without them. Papers must be submitted using the conference web site and following the requirements stated there. Authors of accepted papers must be prepared to sign a copyright statement and must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference. Additionally, they must follow the Springer Information for Authors' guidelines for the preparation of the manuscript and use the templates provided there.

## **Program Chairs**

Sushil Jajodia Javier Lopez

George Mason University, USA University of Malaga, Spain

### **Important dates**

Paper Submission due: March 31, 2008 Acceptance notification: June 16, 2008

Final papers due: July 7, 2008

## **Program Committee**

Vijay Atluri, Rutgers University, USA Michael Backes, Saarland University, Germany

David Basin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Gilles Barthe, INRIA, France

Marina Blanton, University of Notre Dame, USA Jan Camenisch, IBM Research, Switzerland David Chadwick, University of Kent, UK Bruno Crispo, University of Trento, Italy Frederic Cuppens, ENST Bretagne, France

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati, Univ. Milan, Italy

Josep L. Ferrer, Univ. of Islas Baleares, Spain David Galindo, University of Malaga, Spain

Juan A. Garay, Bell Labs, USA Dieter Gollmann, HUT, Germany

Antonio Gomez-Skarmeta, Univ. of Murcia, Spain

Juanma Gonzalez-Nieto, QUT, Australia Dimitris Gritzalis, UAEB, Greece Stefanos Gritzalis, Univ. Aegean, Greece

Jordi Herrera, UOC, Spain

Aggelos Kiayias, University of Connecticut, USA Socrates Katsikas, Univ. Piraeus, Greece

Christopher Kruegel, TU Vienna, Austria
Michiharu Kudo, IBM Tokyo Research, Japan
Kwok-Yan Lam, Tsinghua University, China
Wenke Lee, Georgia Institue of Technology, USA

Yingjiu Li, SMU, Singapore

Peng Liu, Penn State University, USA

Fabio Martinelli, CNR, Italy

Fabio Massacci, University of Trento, Italy Vashek Matyas, University Brno, Czech Republic

Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, UK Refik Molva, Eurecom, France

Yi Mu, University of Wollongong, Australia

Peng Ning, North Carolina State University, USA Eiji Okamoto, University of Tsukuba, Japan Martin Olivier, University of Pretoria, South Africa Stefano Paraboschi, University of Bergamo, Italy Jong-Hyuk Park, Kyungnam University, Korea

Guenther Pernul, Univ. Regensburg, Germany

Bart Preneel, KUL, Belgium

Jean-Jacques Quisquater, UCL, Belgium Indrakshi Ray, Colorado State University, USA Peter Ryan, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan, Italy

Sean Smith, Dartmouth College, USA

Miguel Soriano, UPC, Spain

Vipin Swarup, MITRE Corporation, USA Angelos Stavrou, George Mason University, USA

Giovanni Vigna, UCSB, USA

Michael Waidner, IBM Zurich Research, Switzerland

Lingyu Wang, Concordia University, Canada Avishai Wool, Tel Aviv University, Israel Jianying Zhou, 12R, Singapore

Sencun Zhu, Pennsylvania State University, USA